NFL Playoffs (continuing coverage)

Arianna Taylor, Editor-in-Chief

  Every year, the NFL playoffs last for 3 weeks. The NFL is divided into two conferences: the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC). These leagues were separate until 1970, when they merged into the National Football League (NFL). The top seven teams with the best record from each conference make it to the playoffs. The teams for the AFC are listed in order of rank: Kansas City Chiefs, Buffalo Bills, Cincinnati Bengals, Jacksonville Jaguars, Los Angeles Chargers, Baltimore Ravens and Miami Dolphins. For the NFC, the teams listed in order of rank are Philadelphia Eagles, San Francisco 49ers, Minnesota Vikings, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants and Seattle Seahawks.

  The Chiefs and the Eagles are the first seeds for their conferences, so they will have a bye-week (a week when they won’t play) and home-field advantage for the duration of the playoffs. The Super Bowl will consist of the best teams from the AFC and NFC. The Super Bowl will be on Sunday, February 12, 2023, in Glendale, AZ at the State Farm Stadium. 

Update: The Jacksonville Jaguars, Dallas Cowboys, Buffalo Bills, New York Giants, Cincinnati Bengals, San Francisco 49’ers, Philadelphia Eagles and Kansas City Chiefs will advance to the next round of playoffs. This will be the first playoff game for the Eagles and Chiefs because they received a bye-week.

The Miami Dolphins, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Minnesota Vikings, Baltimore Ravens, Seattle Seahawks and Los Angeles Chargers will no longer be in the playoffs after losing this weekend.

Update 1/23: The San Francisco 49ers, Cincinnati Bengals, Philadelphia Eagles and Kansas City Chiefs, have advanced to the final round of the playoffs. The winning team from the AFC and NFC will be in the Super Bowl.

The Jacksonville Jaguars, Buffalo Bills, New York Giants and Dallas Cowboys are eliminated from the playoffs.

Update 1/30: The Philadelphia Eagles will represent the AFC in the Super Bowl after beating the 49ers 31-7. The Kansas City Chiefs will represent the NFC in the Super Bowl after beating the Cincinnati Bengals 23-30. The Chiefs and Eagles will receive one bye week to prepare for the final game of the season.

Update 2/13: The Kansas City Chiefs are the winners of Super Bowl LVII after defeating the Philadelphia Eagles 38-35. This is the second time that quarterback Patrick Mahomes has led the Chiefs to a Super Bowl win, the last time being Super Bowl LIV in 2018.